Twitter?

Something that I find very surprising is how social media and the internet works today. For example, Twitter. I have a project in my technology class where I get to choose the topic and do research on it, then everyone has to present in class. We have done this type of project in class before but this time he wants us to use Twitter as one of our resources. Since my topic was about learning to do impressionism (painting), I only followed a few people for the assignment. When I was following people on twitter I was mainly looking for experts that could give actually advise on painting :

  •  : I followed him mainly because he was a frequent updater, he posted what he painted, and he actually paints for a living. He even has his own website and art studio. I am very pleased to say that he was one of the only people to reply to a message. When I was messaging him I mainly just wanted to know a few pointers on how to paint landscapes since that seems to be one of the two types of paintings he does the most.
  •  ,  : I followed these two groups because they both had great example of famous art pieces that I could practice painting, especially since the selection is so large.
  •  ,  : I followed these two organisations because I thought they would post most types and pieces of art. Unfortunately most of what they posted were dates on when an event was.
  •  ,  : When following these two I thought they would tweet things about art and where it came into the business world, but they mostly posted about what events they have been to.
  •  : I, mostly, followed her because I saw that she was a painter, but after I looked at more of her posts I found that in each piece of her art she was really good at mixing colors especially complimentary colors. Also, she has a really good eye for good art when it comes to riposting.
  •  : I followed Urvashi Pastel because I found that they were very active when it comes to making new art and posting it. Unfortunately, their art may be amazing it wasn’t what I was looking for when it comes to  my project.
  •  : The reason for why I followed him was because of his PdHd in History of Art and maybe give me some help finding impressionistic Artists.

Most of what I asked from the people I followed was advise and opinions. Mainly for either research purposes or I just wanted pointers on painting since I don’t usually paint. Sadly, when I sent out questions for each of them, only two people responded:  , and . Although, not many people replied just having these two respond was just enough of a push to get me to start really thinking about what I wanted to paint and why.

I also find it really cool how even though I originally was just asking for advice I still got to continue the conversation with Chris Chalk. It was also exiting when four or five of them actually followed me back. Just with this small project I can see how it would be very useful for other classes, like History, especially if you are looking for teachers to help you decipher what was actually going on during a specific time period.

I definitely think I’m going to be using this for a different project at some point.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *